[Seaside] Anybody know what these POST requests are trying to do?

Nevin Pratt nevin at bountifulbaby.com
Mon Feb 4 23:18:34 UTC 2008

Nevin Pratt wrote:
> Blake wrote:
>> On Mon, 04 Feb 2008 12:56:02 -0800, Nevin Pratt 
>> <nevin at bountifulbaby.com> wrote:
>>> It looks like a bot of some sort doing this.  But just what do you 
>>> think
>>> these nuts are trying to do?
> I think it's a bit deeper than that.  I think some sites are 
> vulnerable to malicious redirects-- sort of like using an open email 
> relay, but with http requests instead of email.  And there's a bunch 
> of bots whose mission in life is to seek out and exploit such sites.  
> At least, that's my suspicion.
> But I really don't know.  That's why I'd love some further speculation 
> from other Seasiders.
> Nevin

And I just got 6 more of these requests.  The stack trace on all six are 
just like I posted earlier.

What are these guys trying to accomplish by doing this?


More information about the seaside mailing list