Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) 2008 -- Call for Papers

Robert Hirschfeld robert.hirschfeld at gmx.net
Fri Jan 25 07:50:58 UTC 2008


*** Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) 2008 ***

July 8, 2008 (Tuesday)

Co-located with ECOOP 2008, Paphos, Cyprus

Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN


Submission deadline: April 25, 2008 (hard deadline)
Author notification: May 23, 2008
Camera-ready copy due: June 6, 2008
DLS 2008: July 8, 2008

The Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) at ECOOP 2008 in Paphos, Cyprus, 
is a forum for discussion of dynamic languages, their implementation and 
application. While mature dynamic languages including Smalltalk, Lisp, 
Scheme, Self, Prolog, and APL continue to grow and inspire new converts, 
a new generation of dynamic scripting languages such as Python, Ruby, 
PHP, Tcl, and JavaScript are successful in a wide range of applications. 
DLS provides a place for researchers and practitioners to come together 
and share their knowledge, experience, and ideas for future research and 

DLS 2008 invites high quality papers reporting original research, 
innovative contributions or experience related to dynamic languages, 
their implementation and application. Accepted Papers will be published 
in the ACM Digital Library.

Areas of interest include but are not limited to:

- Innovative language features and implementation techniques
- Development and platform support, tools
- Interesting applications
- Domain-oriented programming
- Very late binding, dynamic composition, and runtime adaptation
- Reflection and meta-programming
- Software evolution
- Language symbiosis and multi-paradigm languages
- Dynamic optimization
- Hardware support
- Experience reports and case studies
- Educational approaches and perspectives
- Object-oriented, aspect-oriented, and context-oriented programming

We invite original contributions that neither have been published 
previously nor are under review by other refereed events or 
publications. Research papers should describe work that advances the 
current state of the art. Experience papers should be of broad interest 
and should describe insights gained from substantive practical 
applications. The program committee will evaluate each contributed paper 
based on its relevance, significance, clarity, and originality.

Papers are to be submitted electronically at 
http://www.swa.hpi.uni-potsdam.de/dls/dls08/ in PDF format. Submissions 
must not exceed 12 pages and need to use the ACM format, templates for 
which can be found at http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html.

Accepted Papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library.


Chair: Johan Brichau (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium)

Joe Armstrong (Ericsson AB, Sweden)
Pierre Cointe (École des Mines de Nantes, France)
William R. Cook (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Pascal Costanza (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Wolfgang De Meuter (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Maja D'Hondt (IMEC, Belgium)
Robert Hirschfeld (Hasso-Plattner Institüt, Germany)
Roberto Ierusalimschy (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Andy Kellens (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Michele Lanza (University of Lugano, Switzerland)
Michael Leuschel (University of Düsseldorf, Germany)
Oscar Nierstrasz (University of Berne, Switzerland)
Kent Pitman (PTC, USA)
Lynne Shaw (CheckFree Investment Services, USA)
David Ungar (Sun Microsystems, USA)
Peter Van Roy (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Martin von Löwis (Hasso-Plattner Institüt, Germany)
Daniel Weinreb (ITA Software, USA)


Robert Hirschfeld
hirschfeld at acm.org

More information about the Squeak-dev mailing list