[Vm-dev] Pharo 3.0 Released!

Esteban Lorenzano estebanlm at gmail.com
Wed Apr 30 14:01:30 UTC 2014

Dear World,

Pharo 3.0 (http://www.pharo.org) is here.

The past year seemed short as we got busy building more than usual. Many things have changed in Pharo. Here are the highlights:
- The new modular Opal compiler is now the default compiler used in the system.
- The Athens vector graphics canvas is now integrated and it supports Cairo rendering on all platforms.
- Many tools have been rewritten using Spec, a new framework for building user interfaces.
- Versionner and Kommiter are two of the new development tools.
- RPackage, a new package mechanism got enhanced with tags and is fully integrated in the system.
- The debugger model was rewritten to become modular, the inspector received a bump to support multiple views, and the Nautilus code browser supports tags, search and lot more improvements.
- Morphic has seen many cleanings and improvements and the visual theme has been revamped.

These are just the more prominent highlights, but the details are just as important. We have closed 2364 issues in Pharo 3 (compared with 1727 issues in Pharo 2). Take a moment to go through a more detailed recount of the progress:


Pharo is improving on many fronts. Just take a look at the code city of Pharo (built with Pharo for Pharo). Every building is a class, and the red bricks represent the modified methods in Pharo 3. 

Many things are changing but the system gets more stable. Moving from Pharo 2 to Pharo 3 is almost a matter of just loading the code.

Remember that Pharo is your platform. We thank all the contributors of this release: Jean-Baptiste Arnaud, Simon Allier, Philippe Back, Clément Bera, Alexandre Bergel, Torsten Bergmann, Usman Bhatti, Vincent Blondeau, Noury Bouraqadi, Johan Brichau, Camillo Bruni, Sven Van Caekenberghe, Damien Cassou, Nicolas Cellier, Guido Chari, Dimitris Chloupis, Bernardo Contreras, Ben Coman, Gabriel Omar Cotelli, Jordi Delgado, Tommaso Del Sasso, Gisela Decuzzi, Christophe Demarey, Sean DeNigris, Marcus Denker, Martin Dias, Erwan Douaille, Stephane Ducasse, Stephan Eggermont, Pablo Estefo, Luc Fabresse, Johan Fabry, Hilaire Fernandes, Nahuel Garbezza, Leo Gassman, Lucas Giudice, Tudor Girba, Thierry Goubier, Norbert Hartl, Dale Henrichs, Pablo Herrero, Nicolai Hess, Andre Hora, Alejandro Infante, Ricardo Jacas, Henrik Sperre Johansen, Denis Kudryashov, Pavel Krivanek, Juraj Kubelka, Laurent Laffont, Jannik Laval, Max Leske, David Lewis, Diego Lont, Esteban Lorenzano, Stefan Marr, Mariano Martinez Peck, Roberto Minelli, Hernan Morales Durand, Eliot Miranda, Fernando Olivero, Nicolas Papagna Maldonado, Nick Papoylias, Nicolas Passerini, Vanessa Peña, Nicolas Petton, Alain Plantec, Guillermo Polito, Damien Pollet, Jochen Rick, Benjamin Van Ryseghem, Ronie Salgado, Camille Teruel, Juan Pablo Sandoval Alcocer, Samir Saleh, Frank Shearar, Igor Stasenko, Aliaksei Syrel, Sebastian Tleye, Yuriy Tymchuk, Andres Valloud, Martin Walk, Hernan Wilkinson. 
And many many more who contributed indirectly, by reporting bugs, participating in discussion threads, providing feedback...

Pharo 3.0 is the largest step we took since we started. Yet, it’s just a step. Expect more. Much more.

The Pharo Team
-------------- next part --------------
Skipped content of type multipart/related

More information about the Vm-dev mailing list