[squeak-dev] The Trunk: Morphic-mt.1852.mcz
marcel.taeumel at hpi.de
Wed Jan 26 07:01:05 UTC 2022
Hi Chris --
> Workspaces are saved in the image. New users are trained to save
their image very early on. [...] So it's actually already pretty hard to lose anything "important" [...]
It would be helpful if you would address the issue that Workspaces look like the code-editing facilities in Browser/MessageSet/Debugger. There, you can hit CMD+S and do not have to care about the lifetime of that tool window. It's rather unrelated to the fact that you have to learn save the image. That kind of inconsistency between Workspaces and Browser/MessageSet/Debugger has been around for a very long time. It's about time we improve on it. ;-) I am pretty sure there were reasons back then in the old days, when message sends where expensive and file access was as well. Nowadays, that's not the case anymore. So we can -- and should -- focus on usability a little bit more. Make the system robust. Value the user's input and make sure that it does not get lost through little usability slips.
Am 26.01.2022 02:19:10 schrieb Chris Muller <asqueaker at gmail.com>:
> > I've never noticed any confusion with the general case of Workspace and 'accept'; all it has ever done (we're talking around 40 years practice here) is save the content to a string as a backup.
> What kind of intransparent, fragile "backup" would that be? You hit the window's close button and that "backup" is gone. In my opinion, that's not a "backup".
> So similarly I’d expect to find my last accepted Workspace changes somewhere - and I don’t know where - is this what I’m still missing? And quite logically then, if I crash my image...
Workspaces are saved in the image. New users are trained to save
their image very early on. Not only that, assuming they were taught
that Workspaces are for playing with Smalltalk code, then they can
find all their most recent DoIt's (et al) in the change history. Like
any backup one could poke holes in, Workspaces are backed up
well-enough relative to their use-cases.
So it's actually already pretty hard to lose anything "important",
unless they decided to put their Last Will and Testament into a
workspace window and forgot to save the image... :)
Humor aside, there's only so much protection we can try to layer on to
guide users, but their curious exploration (hopefully!) will still
always lead them to minor setbacks. Once learned, I doubt many will
care for the system to constantly remind them. Unless Squeak can get
"Ignore this message in the future" functionality, I predict these
post pop-ups will eventually be removed from the code.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the Squeak-dev